Finding Old Pals at LAX

Post #1 of a 5 part series. All photos by Dee Ritter.

No new page this week. My wife and I and Dee’s son Russ have been in Austin, Texas, at the MotoGP/MotoAmerica races at the Circuit Of The Americans track. The occasion was the release of my book “Racing the Gods.” Instead of my usual weekly story I’m going to post the daily highlights of our trip, one post per day.

April 8th, Wednesday – We flew from Portland to Austin with a layover at Los Angeles. At LAX we run into my old pal and racing foe Steve McLaughlin. There’s time for a drink and a lively conversation. I learned a bit more about the formation of the AMA’s original Superbike Production classes, and I’ll update the “ZJ. Superbikes, a new Racing Class” page soon.

Steve McL at LAX
Russ Granger, Steve McLaughlin, Dee Ritter and me relaxing between flights. It’s the first time I’ve seen Steve face-to-face in about 35 years!

Next: an event-filled Thursday in Austin.

Leave a Reply

